Student Grants

Grant application for students

The ECIR 2016 grant program provides up to 500 euros to cover travel, accommodation, and subsistence expenses for full-time students who wish to attend ECIR 2016 in Padua. Due to administrative reasons the grant cannot be used to refund registration fees, which has to be paid separately.

Grant applications should be submitted to:

by selecting the track Student Grant Applications (SGA) by 19 February 2016.

Results will be given to applicants on 29 February 2016.

Only complete applications of students will be considered. Late applications will not be considered. 

The required documents have to be submitted in a zip file containing:

  • a grant application document (PDF)
  • a copy of your current student I.D.
  • a short letter of support from your supervisor

The grant application 1 to 3 pages (pdf file) should contain the following elements:

  • Full name, address, university;
  • Date when you started your PhD;
  • Topic of the PhD ; supervisor(s);
  • Current research, studies, publications, CV related to the conference topics;
  • Why attending the event will be beneficial to you.

Criteria for selection are: relevance of the research topic to ECIR; PhD year and track record (Preference will be given to students at an earlier stage of their career and with evidence of an exceptionally strong track record); presentation of a full/short/demo paper; strong letter of support. Preference will be given to full-time students studying/working in developing countries and presenting their work (nevertheless, those not presenting at the conference are eligible to apply). Preference will also be given to those who have no alternative travel support. All applicants must be full-time students at the time of the conference.


Reimbursement will be made after the end of the conference upon presentation of the original supporting documents of expenses incurred during the event, in accordance with the spending limits specified in the guidelines available at:

Grant Committee

  • John Tait (Chair),, UK
  • Jaime Arguello, UNC Chapel Hill, USA
  • Pavel Braslavski, Ural Federal University / Kontur Labs, Russian Federation
  • Jaap Kamps, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Diane Kelly, University of North Carolina, USA
  • Mihai Lupu, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
  • Nils Pharo, Oslo and Akershus University College of Applied Sciences, Norway